License to Purchase a Pistol (LTP)
Purchase Permits Hours
- Monday through Thursday 8 am - 4 pm and Friday 8 am - 11 am
- Notary Fee Charge of $3
- Additional $2 Service Fee if Paid by Credit Card
Note: If you are a non-resident of Walker applying for a permit at the Walker Police Department, there will be a 24- to 48-hour delay in issuance of the permit to obtain a background check from your local jurisdiction.
An applicant is qualified if all of the following circumstances exist:
1. Not be subject to an order or disposition for any of the following:
• Involuntary hospitalization or involuntary alternate treatment, pursuant to MCL 330.1464a.
• Legal incapacitation order, pursuant to MCL 700.5107.
• Personal protection order, pursuant to MCL 600.2950 or 600.2950a.
• Restraining order, pursuant to MCL 552.14.
• Released subject to protective conditions pursuant to MCL 765.6b.
• Order of protective conditions, pursuant to MCL 765.6b, that includes a condition that the defendant not purchase or possess a firearm.
• Finding of not guilty by reason of insanity, pursuant to MCL 769.16b.
• Extreme risk protection order, pursuant to MCL 691.1809.
2. Be at least 18 years of age, if the seller is licensed under 18 USC 923, be 21 years of age or older.
3. Be a citizen of the United States or an immigrant alien lawfully admitted into the United States and be a legal resident of Michigan. An applicant is considered a legal resident if any of the following apply:
• The applicant possesses a valid, lawfully obtained Michigan driver's license or Michigan personal identification card.
• The applicant is lawfully registered to vote in Michigan.
• The applicant is on active duty status with the United States Armed Forces and is stationed outside of Michigan, but Michigan is the applicant's home of record.
• The applicant is on active duty status with the United States Armed Forces and is permanently stationed in Michigan, but the applicant's home of record is another state.
4. A felony charge or criminal charge listed in MCL 28.425b is not pending at the time of application.
5. Not prohibited from possessing, using, transporting, selling, purchasing, carrying, shipping, receiving, or distributing a firearm under MCL 750.224f.
6. Not have been adjudged insane in this state or elsewhere unless he or she has been adjudged restored to sanity by court order.
7. Not under an order of involuntary commitment in an inpatient or outpatient setting due to mental illness.
8. Not have been adjudged legally incapacitated in this state or elsewhere unless he or she has had his or her legal capacity restored by court order.
9. Not be prohibited under federal law from possessing or transporting a firearm as determined through the federal National Instant Criminal Background Check System (NICS).